Welcome! Please login or register.

Forgotten Username/Password


Two-Level MaintenanceLMP-Logo.jpg

The U.S. Army is transitioning from a four-level maintenance system to a two-level maintenance (TLM) activity. This transformation is being managed and implemented by Army Materiel Command (AMC); Department of the Army (DA) G3 and G4; Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC); National Guard Bureau (NGB); Combined Arms Support Command (CASCOM); Office of the Chief of Army Reserves (OCAR); Assistant Secretary of the Army for Acquisition, Logistics and Technology (ASAALT); and others.


First Level: Field Maintenance

The organizational motor pools and Direct Support (DS) Maintenance activities are being combined into Field Maintenance. It is the first level of TLM, with a defined philosophy of repair-and-return-to-user. In other words, Field Maintenance relies on line replaceable unit (LRU) and component replacement, battle damage assessment and repair (BDAR), recovery, and related maintenance activities. Field Maintenance can be performed at both maintenance levels within the Army.


Two-Level maintenance is performed mainly in the field depot or motor pool.

Second Level: Sustainment Maintenance

Sustainment Maintenance is the second level of the TLM philosophy. It combines the General Support (GS) and Depot maintenance activities. Sustainment Maintenance is a repair-and-return-to-the-Army supply system activity. Sustainment level maintenance can be brought as far forward as required, based on the mission profile; such as the enemy, terrain and weather, troops, time available, and other personnel considerations.

Two-level maintenance provides the modularity required and has had a positive impact on operational readiness. This transition by the Army provides more maintenance capability to the lower echelons within the Army force structure, down to company level. Additionally, test equipment, recovery equipment, and higher mechanical skills have been placed at the lowest possible levels, so equipment can be returned to Fully Mission Capable (FMC) status much faster.


Logistics Modernization Program

The transition to TLM is part of an overall Army logistics transformation called the Logistics Modernization Program (LMP). The Army’s logistics infrastructure is transitioning to convert the four-level-based maintenance legacy to reflect the TLM philosophy.

Since 2004, ONEIL has assisted the Army’s transition to TLM. There are three key Army work directives that reflect TLM:

  1. Review, analyze, and convert the Army’s system component parts databases from four-level to two-level maintenance.

  2. Review, analyze, and update legacy Department of the Army Technical Manuals (DATMs).

  3. Review, analyze, and update legacy Army Training.

ONEIL is assisting both the Army and prime equipment contractors with TLM.  To date, we have obtained, analyzed, and converted hundreds of thousands of parts data and DATM pages to reflect the Army’s new TLM requirements.

Over many years of serving our armed forces, ONEIL continues to adapt and transform with our military to support our warfighters deployed worldwide. We do this by developing high-quality Integrated Logistic Support (ILS) documentation that is proving to reduce the logistic footprint and increase mission readiness in the field of operations.

Request More Information